Mammals There are three groups of mammals; egg-laying mammals ,pouched mammals and placental mammals. These three types of mammals are different for one main reason: reproductive methods. The egg-laying mammals lay eggs. The pouched mammals give birth to underdeveloped offspring. The offspring then spends time in the mother’s pouch, and mature.

The placental mammals keep their offspring inside them then give birth to a fully developed offspring. 2. The anteaters and spiny ant eaters were two separate kinds of mammals. the Spiny anteater lays eggs to reproduce, the anteater does not. 3.

We Will Write a Custom Essay Specifically
For You For Only $13.90/page!

order now

Two pouched mammals are Kangaroos and Koalas. Their young develop in pouches. 4. Mammary Glands are glands on the female mammal. They produce milk for the offspring to drink.

5. There are ten types of placental mammals. Here were their names and characteristics. Name Characteristic 1. Toothless No teeth 2.

Water dwelling Live in water 3. Trunk Nosed Have trunks as noses 4. Rodent like Similar to rodents 5. Insect Eating Insects as food source 6. Flying Flying 7 Primates Ape like 8 Gnawing Eat by Gnawing 9 Flesh Eating Carnivorous 10 Even hooved Feet were hooves with even sides.

6. Whales were considered mammals for three reasons. First of all, they bear live young. Secondly they must surface for air. Lastly, they feed their young with mammary glands.

7. Sharp teeth help predators to devour their prey. 8. Primates were considered the smartest animals because they use their.


I'm Lydia!

Would you like to get a custom essay? How about receiving a customized one?

Check it out